October’s Jukepop Reading Party Critiques.

Page 4

Before I begin, I wanted to advise people that I have decided to amend the structure of the reviews. They will still cover what worked best and what could’ve been better, but it has become clear that the way I lay them out needs to change.

First, since many of the serials I have read this month (and will continue to do so every month) may not always be complete, I will first state whether they are complete or ongoing.

Second, rather than spending a line or two talking about spelling and grammar, a serial will be rated as follows:

  • 1: No spelling/grammatical errors found at all.
  • 2: Minimal spelling/grammatical errors and what few I found were minor and appeared in only a few chapters.
  • 3: Spelling/Grammatical mistakes found in quite a few chapters, but still relatively mild as above.
  • 4:  Lots of spelling/grammatical mistakes found but only in a few chapters.
  • 5: Lots of errors found in many chapters, many being serious offenders, such as ‘their’ instead of ‘they’re’.

I decided to adopt this approach because Jukepop stories cannot be critiqued in quite the same way as a published book.  Why, I hear you ask?

Well, first Jukepop is a website designed to accommodate serialised fiction – many of its titles are still ongoing.

More importantly, I’ve always found that Jukepop doubles as an online writing group.  Many authors support other authors by offering constructive feedback on their work.  With this in mind, much of the work can be considered close to a final draft but not quite there yet.  Therefore I feel it pointless to dwell on things like spelling/grammar any more than necessary.  Remember that even work from famous, successful authors will have gone through the publishers editing department before being sold to the public.

So without further ado … here are the four critiques for this months Jukepop Reading Party: